Tips and Tricks for Successfully Cleaning Circuit Assemblies - A Webinar

Tech-Tuesday June-18.jpg

Tuesday June 26, 2018
8:00 AM Pacific - 9:00 AM Mountain - 10:00 AM Central - 
11:00 AM Eastern - 4:00 PM UK - 16:00 GMT - 5:00 PM EU

Tips and Tricks for Successfully Cleaning of Circuit Assemblies provides in-depth best-practice advise for successful removal of flux and other assembly related residues. Covered topics include: 

  • An historical look back at cleaning

  • The reason for cleaning

  • Reasons for cleaning no-clean flux residues

  • Conventional cleaning technologies

  • Estimating throughput capabilities on batch and inline cleaning systems

  • Do's and don'ts of cleaning circuit assemblies

  • How to choose a cleaning chemical (if needed)

  • How to determine the assemblies are clean during the cleaning process

  • How to determine the assemblies are clean after the cleaning process

  • Environmental mitigation techniques

  • Calculating the per-assembly cost of cleaning

  • Keeping your cleaning machine in top-working order

This webinar is presented free of charge. All webinar attendees will receive a free copy of "Reasons for Cleaning", a selection of short articles about:
- Why we clean
- How we clean
- How clean is clean enough

2018 SMTA International Conference

SMTAI-website-header-2018.jpg

As part of the Distinguished Speaker Series, Mike Konrad will be presenting:

How to Improve Circuit Assembly Reliability in the Relative World of Harsh Environments

While there is universal agreement that environments such as space, automotive, and down-hole represent the definition of harsh environments, for some circuit assemblies, even an indoor office environment can be harsh. Every circuit assembly has a "residue tolerance". Design, materials, component density, and other factors all influence an assembly's tolerance for residues. This paper will review the primary residue-related failure mechanisms and how to avoid them. This paper will also present evaluation methods to determine an assembly's residue tolerance.

Mike's presentation will take place in the Spotlight Theatre located on the show floor.

SMTA-IPC High Reliability Cleaning and Conformal Coating Conference

Cleaning-coating-2018-header.jpg

"How clean is clean?" is more challenging to answer as conductors and circuit traces become narrower. What is acceptably clean for one industry segment may be unacceptable in others. Brought to you by IPC and SMTA, the High-Reliability Cleaning and Conformal Coating Conference will cover technological developments in all areas of cleaning and coating applied to electronics assemblies. The event will include a technical conference, two half-day tutorials, networking activities and tabletop exhibits. Tutorials will provide practical information on materials, equipment and methodologies at the basic-to-intermediate levels. The technical conference will feature advanced-level presentations from subject-matter experts, emphasizing case studies of real-world problems along with solutions.

Mike Konrad will be presenting: 
Improving Reliability of Circuit Assemblies in Harsh Environments
Wednesday, November 14 at 3:45 PM